Connect with us


How Many Competitive Exams Are There in India



how many competitive exams are there in india

In this blog we will discuss How Many Competitive Exams Are There in India? Competition is difficult in India. Be it a job, a good degree, or a degree from a reputed university. If you want a lifetime opportunity then you should give competitive exams. To make it easier for you to choose, we have compiled a list of Indian competitive exams. Look around to explore all your possibilities.

How Many Competitive Exams Are There in India

There are more than 30 competitive exams. With so many competitive exams, candidates may face difficulties in understanding the purpose of the tests or often forget important dates. As a result, we have compiled relevant data for the knowledge and guidance of applicants.

Top List of Competitive Exams in India

Here are the list of competitive exams in India:

1. Civil Services Examination

The national level competitive examination of India is called Civil Services Examination. The Indian Administrative Service ranks among the top civil services in India. Additionally, the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is in charge of running it.

How to Stay Disciplined While Preparing for the Government Exams

According to their posts in Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Revenue Service (IRS) etc., the eligible applicants are eligible for various Central and Assigned to All India Civil Service jobs.

Best Books for IAS Prelims and Mains

2. Indian Economic Service Examination

The most competitive engineering job in India is the Indian Economic Services Exam. Candidates can apply for the exam if they have a Bachelor’s degree in Economics or Statistics.

The United Public Service Commission conducts IES, a national examination (UPSC).


For undergraduate students, the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the test. As CHSL, or “Combined Higher Secondary Level” indicates. The test is divided into three levels:

  • Tier 1 – Objective test
  • Tier 2 – Descriptive test
  • Tier 3 – Typing test/ skill test


The Staff Selection Commission also conducts this exam (SSC). It is for students who have successfully completed their 10th standard through a recognized board. Required age limit is 18 to 23.

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts this test for undergraduate candidates for the following posts:

  • Stenographer Grade C (Group B Non-Gazetted) 
  • Grade D (Group C) for the Ministries/ Organisations /Departments of the government

Candidates are selected for the posts of Rifleman and Constable (General Duty) (General Duty).

4 Tiers of Selection for SSC GD Exam:

  • Computer-Based Test (CBE)
  • Physical Efficiency Test (PET)
  • Physical Standard Test (PST)
  • Medical Exam which consists of Detailed Medical Exam (DME), Review Medical Exam

5. National Defence Academy Examination

Army, Navy and Air Force candidates are recruited through the National Defense Academy (NDA). Only candidates who have studied Physics, Chemistry or Mathematics for their graduation can apply for this test.

The exam is conducted by UPSC. A written test and a personal interview comprise the two stages of the process.

6. IBPS PO Examination

IBPS PO is an autonomous employment organization that conducts the Probationary Officer Institute of Banking Personnel Selection Examination. Only those persons who have graduated from a university recognized by UGC are eligible to apply for the examination in all categories of candidates.

Also, the IBPS PO test is divided into three sections.

7. State Bank of India – Probationary Officers

SBI PO Test is used to select applicants for the post of Probationary Officer. Graduate applicants can apply for the exam if they are between 21 and 30 years of age.

Which exam is for the SBI Bank job?

Additionally, the exam has three parts: Prelims, Mains, and Personal Interview.

8. Joint Entrance Examination (JEE)

The National Examinations Agency conducts the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE), a national-level examination. It is for enrollment in various engineering and architectural programs offered across India.

The test is further divided into JEE Mains and JEE Advanced. Candidates who clear the JEE Main exam can then apply for the JEE Advanced exam.


Students who have successfully completed their 12th with Physics, Chemistry and Biology from CBSE/ISC/State Board are conducted specific medical examinations by All India Institute of Medical Sciences. Students taking the exam should have secured an aggregate grade point of at least 40-50% in high school (depending on their category).

10. CTET

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) administers the Central Teacher Eligibility Test to applicants who are interested in teaching from class 1 to 8 to determine their eligibility. Candidates need to pass only paper 1 of the exam to apply for teaching in primary schools if they are above 18 years of age.

Salary ranges from Rs.9,300 to Rs.34,800 for this exam.

11. Indian Air Force

AFCAT is conducted by the Indian Air Force (Air Force Common Admission Test). To select Group A Gazetted Officers in Flying and Ground Duty (Technical and Non-Technical) branches, the examination is conducted twice a year.

The salary for this position ranges from Rs. 7 lakhs to Rs.10 lakhs per annum.

Agniveer Vayu

Agniveer Vayu will be enrolled in the Indian Air Force under Air Force Act 1950, for a period of four years. The IAF recently successfully completed the selection process for the first batch of Agniveer Vayu Intake in 2022, where Agniveers were recruited for 4 years. 

If you want to be Agniveer vayu. Then purchase agniveer vayu book online

12. Railways

Railway examinations are open to students above 18 years of age. Railways conducts four examinations:

  • RRB Popular Non-Technical Categories (NTPC)
  • RRB JE
  • RRB Group D 

For each of these tests, there are different posts and exam formats. Railway Recruitment Control Board also conducts RRC Group D Examination (RRB). Students can apply for this exam if they have obtained their class 10 diploma from a recognized board. The age limit for this exam, however, is 18 to 33.

13. GATE  (Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering)

The GATE exam is taken by students who want to continue their studies with masters or doctoral programs in engineering, technology, architecture or science. The exam is open to applicants with an engineering degree or a master’s degree in mathematics, science, statistics, or computer applications. The exam scores are also accepted by many PSUs for employment purposes.

Conclusion: How Many Competitive Exams Are There in India

In this blog we discuss How Many Competitive Exams Are There in India? However, some of the more popular competitive exams in India include the Civil Services Exam, the Indian Engineering Services Exam, and the Indian Forest Service Exam.